Whipple procedure for pancreatic and duodenal head tumors in Turkey

Whipple procedure for pancreatic and duodenal head tumors

pancreatic cancer It is the fourth most common cause of death from cancer, and the 5-year survival rate is only about 12% despite advances in medical care, chemotherapy, radiotherapy, and molecular biology to remove the tumor. Pancreaticoduodenectomy, also known as the whipple procedure or pancreaticoduodenectomy operation, is the surgical procedure of choice for resectable pancreatic cancer. Studies It increases the patient's life expectancy to 15% to reach 10 years.

The whipple procedure can take several hours, is a major and challenging procedure and requires significant surgical skill and experience as well as an advanced hospital and medical team. The area around the pancreas is complex and surgeons often encounter patients who have a different arrangement of the blood vessels and ducts around the pancreas.

What is a Whipple procedure?

The whipple procedure is the surgical procedure of choice for resectable pancreatic duct cancer. Because of the combined perfusion of the digestive organs, surgical removal of the head of the pancreas also necessitates removal of the duodenum, jejunum, gallbladder and sometimes part of the stomach.

Broadly there are two types of pancreaticoduodenectomy; The most comprehensive are "classic Whipple (CW)" and "pyloric-sparing pancreaticoduodenectomy (PSD)".

After the Whipple procedure, the surgeon reconnects the remaining organs to allow you to digest food normally after the Whipple procedure.

After removing the head of the pancreas in the Whipple procedure, the surgeon reconnects the remaining organs
A picture showing the shape of the stomach and intestines after the Whipple procedure

Indications for the Whipple procedure on the pancreas

The whipple procedure is often performed as a surgical treatment for head cancer of the pancreas, carcinoma of the bile ducts, or cancer of the duodenum. Other indications include treatment of:

  • Pancreas cancer
  • pancreatic cysts
  • pancreatic tumors
  • chronic pancreatitis
  • ampoule cancer
  • bile duct cancer
  • Neuroendocrine tumors
  • small intestine cancer
  • Trauma to the pancreas or small intestine
  • Tumors or other disorders involving the pancreas, duodenum, or bile ducts

The goal of the Whipple procedure for pancreatic cancer is to remove the tumour and prevent it from growing and spreading to other organs. This is the only treatment that can lead to long-term survival and the most important treatment for most of these tumors.

Who are the candidates for Whipple surgery?

Only about 20% of pancreatic cancer patients are eligible for the Whipple procedure and other surgeries for the tumor. These are usually patients whose tumors are confined to the head of the pancreas and have not spread to any nearby major blood vessels, liver, lungs, or abdominal cavity. Extensive testing is usually required to identify potential candidates for a Whipple procedure.

Some patients may be eligible for the minimally invasive (laparoscopic) whipple procedure, which is performed through several small incisions rather than one large incision. Compared to the classic procedure, the laparoscopic whipple procedure may result in less blood loss, shorter hospital stay, faster recovery, and fewer complications.

Contraindications to the Whipple procedure

The most important absolute contraindications for this procedure are tumors that have spread in the abdominal cavity or to other distant organs such as the liver. Surgeons investigate the peritoneum and liver before starting the excision to detect the presence of metastases to them.

Surgeons may perform a separate procedure prior to Whipple surgery called diagnostic laparoscopy, which involves inserting a small camera through a small incision in the abdominal wall and studying the position and extent of the tumor, which may avoid major surgery.

Other contraindications for the Whipple procedure are tumor infiltration from the pancreas into major blood vessels such as the celiac artery, superior mesenteric artery, and inferior vena cava.

 An overview of the Whipple procedure in Turkey

The surgery may take four to 12 hours, depending on the method used and the complexity of the operation. Whipple surgery is performed using general anesthesia, so you will be asleep and unaware during the procedure.

The surgeon makes an incision in your abdomen to access your internal organs. The location and size of the incision varies depending on your surgeon's approach and your situation.

Whipple surgery can be performed in different ways:

  • Open surgery: The surgeon makes an incision in your abdomen in order to access your pancreas. This is the most common and most studied approach.
  • Endoscopic Surgery: During laparoscopic surgery, the surgeon makes several small incisions in your abdomen and inserts special tools, including a camera that transmits video to a monitor in the operating room. The surgeon watches the monitor to guide the surgical instruments in the Whipple procedure. Laparoscopic surgery is a type of minimally invasive surgery.
  • Robotic surgery: Robotic surgery is a type of minimally invasive surgery in which surgical instruments are attached to a mechanical device (a robot). The surgeon sits at a nearby console and uses hand controls to guide the robot. A surgical robot can use tools in tight spaces and around corners, where human hands may be too large to be effective.

 Complications after the whipple procedure

Complications Immediately after the Whipple procedure, serious complications can affect many patients. The most common of these complications is the development of faulty ducts (fistulas) and leakage from the site of reconnection of the intestine (bile leakage and intra-abdominal pancreatic leakage). Surgeons place a surgical detonator near the anastomosis site to detect leakage as soon as it occurs.

Other potential surgical complications include:

  • infections
  • bleeding
  • Trouble emptying the stomach after meals

Other complications after a Whipple procedure to resection of a pancreatic head tumor include:

  • Weight loss: Most patients expect to lose weight after surgery (Whipple procedure).
  • Diabetes: This condition can occur if too many insulin-producing cells are removed from the pancreas. However, patients who had normal blood sugar before surgery are unlikely to develop diabetes, and those who developed diabetes before the Whipple procedure are more likely to improve.

Extensive research shows that operations lead to fewer complications when performed by highly experienced pancreatic duodenal head surgeons at centers that perform many of these operations.

Recovery after the Whipple procedure

Patients after a Whipple pancreas procedure usually stay in the hospital for a week before returning home. Because recovery can be slow and painful, they usually need to take prescription or over-the-counter pain relievers.

At first, patients can eat only small amounts of easily digestible foods. They may need to take pancreatic enzymes — either in the short or long term — to help with digestion. Diarrhea is a common problem during the first two to three months that it usually takes for a rearranged gut to fully recover.

After the Whipple procedure, the patient must eat small meals rich in protein and calories frequently and avoid excessive fluids with meals
An image showing some nutritional advice after the Whipple procedure

Warning after Whipple procedure for pancreatic head cancer


In general, the five-year survival rate after a Whipplewhiple procedure (resection of the head of the pancreas and duodenum) is about 20 to 25%. Even if the operation is successful in removing the visible tumor, it is possible that some cancer cells have already spread to other places in the body, where they can form new tumors and eventually cause death despite the removal of the primary tumor.

The five-year survival rate is higher in node-negative patients (the cancer has not spread to nearby lymph nodes) than in node-positive patients. Regardless of the condition of the node, most patients receive chemotherapy, radiation, or both after the Whipple procedure.

However, cancer specialists differ in opinions about the best combination and best drugs to use, recent trials have shown improved results with chemotherapy before Whipple, and with different chemotherapy regimens before and after resection.

Is there a custom diet recommended for people who have had the Whipple procedure for pancreatic head cancer?


Each surgery is different because each patient's disease status (eg, tumor location and tumor size) varies.

General diet recommendations after a Whipple procedure include:

  • Eat 5-6 small frequent meals during the day to ensure adequate nutrition.
  • Choose foods rich in protein and calories to help you recover and maintain weight.
  • Avoid taking large amounts of fluids with meals, as this may affect the amount of food you can eat. It's okay to take a small sip with meals.
  • If you experience gas, bloating, and/or diarrhea, pancreatic enzymes may be needed to help metabolize your food after you have had pancreatic whipple head resection surgery.

A low-fat diet does not always solve problems as it can actually be difficult to eat enough to maintain weight after a Whipple procedure. With pancreatic head resection, pancreatic enzymes may be needed to help absorb fats, carbohydrates, and protein.

you can us To secure the best centers that perform the Weil procedure in Turkey, where this operation is performed to remove cancers related to the head of the pancreas, bile duct and duodenum.

Common Questions

The cost of treatment starts from 5000-USD 13000.

Avoid fried, greasy and fatty foods. These foods are difficult to digest as the pancreas changes (pancreatic axectomy). Choose baked, boiled or grilled foods instead.

You should receive chemotherapy after surgery (such as the Whipple procedure) to try to reduce the chances of the cancer coming back.

If you are planning treatment in Turkey
Talk here now

English

اجراء ويبل لعلاج أورام رأس البنكرياس والاثني عشر في تركيا

اجراء ويبل لعلاج أورام رأس البنكرياس والاثني عشر

سرطان البنكرياس pancreatic cancer هو رابع أشيع سبب للوفاة من السرطان ، ومعدل البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة 5 سنوات حوالي 12٪ فقط على الرغم من التقدم في الرعاية الطبية  و الصحية والعلاج الكيميائي والعلاج الإشعاعي والبيولوجيا الجزيئية لإزالة الورم. استئصال البنكرياس والاثني عشر ، المعروف أيضًا باسم إجراء ويبل whipple procedure  او pancreaticoduodenectomy  operation هو الإجراء الجراحي المفضل لسرطان  البنكرياس  القابل للاستئصال  حيث تقول بعض الدراسات أنها تزيد فرصة الحياة للمريض بحيث تصل إلى 15% للوصول لعشر سنوات.

يمكن أن يستغرق إجراء ويبل whipple procedure  عدة ساعات ،يعد عملية كبرى و صعبة ويتطلب مهارة وخبرة جراحية كبيرة بالإضافة لمستشفى و فريق طبي متقدم. المنطقة المحيطة بالبنكرياس معقدة وغالبًا ما يواجه الجراحون  حالات مرضى لديهم اختلاف في ترتيب الأوعية الدموية والقنوات حول البنكرياس.

ما هو اجراء ويبل؟

إجراء ويبل whipple procedure هو الإجراء الجراحي المفضل لسرطان القناة البنكرياسية القابل للاستئصال .بسبب التروية الدموية المشتركة لأعضاء جهاز الهضم فإن الاستئصال الجراحي لرأس البنكرياس يستلزم أيضاً استئصال الاثنا عشري والصائم والمرارة و جزء من المعدة أحياناً.

على نطاق واسع هناك نوعان من استئصال البنكرياس والإثني عشر ؛ الأكثر شمولاً “Whipple الكلاسيكي (CW)” و “استئصال البنكرياس والاثني عشر الذي يحافظ على البواب (PSD)”.

بعد إجراء عملية ويبل whipple procedure، يعيد الجراح توصيل الأعضاء المتبقية للسماح لك بهضم الطعام بشكل طبيعي بعد عملية إجراء ويبل.

بعد استئصال رأس البنكرياس في اجراء ويبل يعيد الجراح وصل الأعضاء المتبقية
صورة توضح شكل المعدة والأمعاء بعد جراحة اجراء ويبل

استطبابات اجراء ويبل على البنكرياس

يجرى اجراء ويبل whipple procedure غالباً كعلاج جراحي لسرطان رأس البنكرياس أو سرطان الطرق الصفراوية أو سرطان الاثنا عشري، وتشمل الاستطبابات الأخرى علاج:

  • سرطان البنكرياس
  • كيسات البنكرياس
  • أورام البنكرياس
  • التهاب البنكرياس المزمن
  • سرطان الأمبولة
  • سرطان القناة الصفراوية
  • أورام الغدد الصم العصبية
  • سرطان الأمعاء الدقيقة
  • رضوض البنكرياس أو الأمعاء الدقيقة
  • أورام أو اضطرابات أخرى تشمل البنكرياس أو الاثني عشر أو القنوات الصفراوية

الهدف من عملية  إجراء ويبل whipple لسرطان  البنكرياس هو إزالة الورم tumour ومنعه من النمو والانتشار إلى الأعضاء الأخرى. هذا هو العلاج الوحيد الذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى بقاء طويل الأمد وأهم علاج لمعظم هذه الأورام.

من المرضى المرشحون لإجراء جراحة ويبل؟

حوالي 20٪ فقط من مرضى سرطان البنكرياس مؤهلون لإجراء ويبل والعمليات الجراحية الأخرى لل ورم. هؤلاء هم عادةً المرضى الذين تقتصر أورامهم على رأس البنكرياس ولم تنتشر في أي أوعية دموية رئيسية قريبة أو الكبد أو الرئتين أو تجويف البطن. عادةً ما يتطلب الامر اختبارات مكثفة لتحديد المرشحين المحتملين لإجراء ويبل.

قد يكون بعض المرضى مؤهلين لإجراء ويبل whipple طفيف التوغل (بالمنظار) ، والذي يتم إجراؤه من خلال عدة شقوق صغيرة بدلاً من شق واحد كبير. مقارنة بالإجراء الكلاسيكي ، قد يؤدي إجراء ويبل whipple بالمنظار إلى فقدان أقل للدم ، وإقامة أقصر في المستشفى ، وتعافي أسرع ، ومضاعفات أقل.

مضادات استطباب إجراء عملية ويبل

أهم مضادات الاستطباب المطلقة لهذا الاجراء هي الأورام المنتشرة في التجويف البطني أو إلى أعضاء أخرى بعيدة كالكبد، يعمد الجراحون لاستقصاء البريتوان والكبد قبل البدء في الاستئصال لتحري وجود نقائل إليهما.

حيث قد يقوم الجراحون بإجراء منفصل يسبق جراحة ويبل يسمى تنظير البطن التشخيصي، والذي يتضمن إدخال كاميرا صغيرة من خلال شق صغير في جدار البطن ودراسة وضع الورم ومدى انتشاره، وهو الأمر الذي قد يجنب المريض التعرض لعمل جراحي كبير.

مضادات الاستطباب الأخرى لإجراء ويبل ،ارتشاح الورم من البنكرياس إلى الأوعية الدموية الرئيسية كالشريان الزلاقي والشريان المساريقي العلوي والوريد الأجوف السفلي.

 لمحة عن اجراء ويبل في تركيا

قد تستغرق الجراحة من أربع إلى 12 ساعة ، اعتمادًا على الطريقة المستخدمة ومدى تعقيد العملية. تُجرى جراحة ويبل باستخدام التخدير العام ، لذلك ستكون نائمًا وغير مدرك أثناء العملية.

يقوم الجراح بعمل شق في بطنك للوصول إلى أعضائك الداخلية. يختلف موقع وحجم الشق وفقًا لنهج الجراح والوضع الخاص بك.

يمكن إجراء جراحة ويبل بطرق مختلفة:

  • الجراحة المفتوحة: يقوم الجراح بعمل شق في بطنك من أجل الوصول إلى البنكرياس. هذا هو النهج الأكثر شيوعًا والأكثر دراسة.
  • جراحة المناظير: أثناء الجراحة بالمنظار ، يقوم الجراح بعمل عدة شقوق صغيرة في بطنك وإدخال أدوات خاصة ، بما في ذلك الكاميرا التي تنقل الفيديو إلى شاشة في غرفة العمليات. يراقب الجراح الشاشة لتوجيه الأدوات الجراحية في إجراء عملية ويبل. الجراحة بالمنظار هي نوع من الجراحة طفيفة التوغل.
  • الجراحة الروبوتية: الجراحة الروبوتية هي نوع من الجراحة طفيفة التوغل يتم فيها ربط الأدوات الجراحية بجهاز ميكانيكي (روبوت). يجلس الجراح عند وحدة تحكم قريبة ويستخدم أدوات التحكم اليدوية لتوجيه الروبوت. يمكن للروبوت الجراحي استخدام الأدوات في المساحات الضيقة وحول الزوايا ، حيث قد تكون الأيدي البشرية أكبر من أن تكون فعالة.

 مضاعفات ما بعد إجراء ويبل whipple procedure

المضاعفات التي تحدث مباشرة بعد إجراء عملية ويبل ، يمكن أن تؤثر المضاعفات الخطيرة على العديد من المرضى. من أكثر هذه اللمضاعفات شيوعًا تطور القنوات الخاطئة (النواسير) والتسرب من موقع إعادة توصيل الأمعاء (تسرب الصفراء و تسرب العصارات البنكرياسية ضمن البطن). يلجأ الجراحون لوضع مُفجر جراحي قرب مكان المفاغرة لكشف التسريب فور حدوثه.

تشمل المضاعفات الجراحية المحتملة الأخرى ما يلي:

  • الالتهابات
  • نزيف
  • مشكلة في إفراغ المعدة لنفسها بعد الوجبات

من المضاعفات الأخرى بعد إجراء ويبل لاستئصال ورم  رأس البنكرياس:

  • فقدان الوزن: يتوقع معظم المرضى فقدان الوزن بعد الجراحة (اجراء ويبل).
  • داء السكري: يمكن أن تحدث هذه الحالة إذا تم استئصال الكثير من الخلايا المنتجة للأنسولين من البنكرياس. ومع ذلك ، من غير المرجح أن يصاب المرضى الذين لديهم سكر دم طبيعي قبل الجراحة بمرض السكري ، ومن المرجح أن يتحسن أولئك الذين أصيبوا بمرض السكري قبل اجراء ويبل.

تظهر الأبحاث المكثفة أن العمليات  تؤدي إلى مضاعفات أقل عند إجرائها من قبل جراحين ذوي خبرة عالية في جراحة رأس البنكرياس والاثنا عشر في المراكز التي تقوم بالعديد من هذه العمليات.

التعافي بعد إجراء ويبل

عادة ما يبقى المرضى بعد اجراء ويبل على البنكرياس في المستشفى لمدة أسبوع قبل العودة إلى المنزل. نظرًا لأن التعافي يمكن أن يكون بطيئًا ومؤلمًا ، فعادة ما يحتاجون إلى تناول وصفة طبية أو مسكنات الألم التي لا تستلزم وصفة طبية.

في البداية ، يمكن للمرضى تناول كميات صغيرة فقط من الأطعمة سهلة الهضم. قد يحتاجون إلى تناول إنزيمات البنكرياس – سواء على المدى القصير أو الطويل – للمساعدة في الهضم. يُعد الإسهال مشكلة شائعة خلال أول شهرين أو ثلاثة أشهر التي تستغرقها عادةً القناة الهضمية المعاد ترتيبها لتتعافى تمامًا.

بعد اجراء ويبل يجب على المريض تناول وجبات صغيرة غنية بالبروتين والسعرات بشكل متكرر وتجنب الإكثار من السوائل مع الوجبات
صورة تبين بعض النصائح الغذائية بعد اجراء ويبل

الإنذار بعد إجراء ويبل لسرطان رأس  البنكرياس


بشكل عام ، معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة خمس سنوات بعد إجراء Whippleويبل  (استئصال رأس البنكرياس والاثنا عشر)  هو حوالي 20 إلى 25٪. حتى إذا نجحت العملية في استئصال الورم المرئي ، فمن المحتمل أن تكون بعض الخلايا السرطانية قد انتشرت بالفعل في أماكن أخرى من الجسم ، حيث يمكن أن تشكل أورامًا جديدة وتسبب الوفاة في النهاية رغم استئصال الورم البدئي.

معدل البقاء على قيد الحياة لمدة خمس سنوات أعلى في مرضى العقدة السلبية (لم ينتشر السرطان إلى الغدد الليمفاوية القريبة) مقارنة بمرضى العقدة الموجبة. وبغض النظر عن حالة العقدة ، يتلقى معظم المرضى العلاج الكيميائي أو الإشعاعي أو كليهما بعد إجراء عملية ويبل.

ومع ذلك ، تختلف آراء اختصاصيي السرطان حول أفضل مزيج وأفضل الأدوية للاستخدام ، فقد أظهرت التجارب الحديثة نتائج محسّنة مع العلاج الكيميائي قبل إجراء ويبل ، ومع أنظمة العلاج الكيميائي المختلفة قبل إجراء ال استئصال  وبعدها.

هل هناك نظام غذائي مخصص موصى به للأشخاص الذين خضعوا لإجراء عملية ويبل whipple لسرطان رأس البنكرياس؟


تختلف كل عملية جراحية لأن حالة المرض لكل مريض (على سبيل المثال ، موقع الورم وحجم الورم) تختلف.

تتضمن توصيات النظام الغذائي العامة بعد إجراء عملية ويبل ما يلي:

  • تناول 5-6 وجبات صغيرة متكررة خلال اليوم لضمان التغذية الكافية.
  • اختر الأطعمة الغنية بالبروتين والسعرات الحرارية للمساعدة على التعافي والحفاظ على الوزن.
  • تجنب تناول كميات كبيرة من السوائل مع الوجبات ، فقد يؤثر ذلك على كمية الطعام التي يمكنك تناولها. لا بأس بالرشفة الصغيرة مع الوجبات.
  • إذا كنت تعاني من الغازات والانتفاخ و / أو الإسهال ، فقد تكون هناك حاجة إلى إنزيمات البنكرياس للمساعدة في استقلاب طعامك بعد إجراء جراحة استئصال رأس البنكرياس والاثني عشر whipple.

لا يؤدي اتباع نظام غذائي قليل الدسم دائمًا إلى حل المشكلات حيث قد يكون من الصعب بالفعل تناول ما يكفي للحفاظ على الوزن بعد إجراء ويبل. مع استئصال رأس البنكرياس ، قد تكون هناك حاجة إلى إنزيمات البنكرياس للمساعدة في امتصاص الدهون والكربوهيدرات والبروتين.

بإمكانكم التواصل معنا لتأمين أفضل المراكز التي تقوم بـ اجراء وييل في تركيا حيث يتم تنفيذ هذه العملية لاستئصال السرطانات المتعلقة برأس البنكرياس والقناة الصفراوية والاثنى عشر.

الأسئلة الشائعة

تكلفة العلاج تبدأ من 5000-USD 13000.

تجنب الأطعمة المقلية والدهنية والدسمة. يصعب هضم هذه الأطعمة مع تغير البنكرياس (استئصال رأس البنكرياس)، اختر الأطعمة المخبوزة أو المسلوقة أو المشوية بدلاً من ذلك.

يجب أن تتلقى العلاج الكيميائي بعد الجراحة (مثل إجراء عملية ويبل) لمحاولة تقليل فرص عودة السرطان.

إذا كنت تخطط للعلاج في تركيا
تحدث هنا الآن

العربية