Hip-joint-change operation

Total hip replacement

the Total hip replacement that associated with severe hip arthrosis, is considered as reliable and effective operation, which aims to reduce pain, increase mobility and functionality and increase quality of life.

Introduction of total hip replacement

Total Hip Replacement has become so successful that it has come to be known as the operation of the century. It is the main surgical procedure in orthopedics and a cost-effective treatment to restore pain-free movement in patients with degenerative bone and joint diseases such as degenerative arthritis. .(1)

Generally, THA can be considered a safe intervention yielding high patient satisfaction. One year after surgery, more than 90% of the osteoarthritis patients declare that they are satisfied with the results of their THA and most of them can return to normal life. This success has led to high expectations among patients, orthopaedic surgeons and researchers. (1)

Patients will have to understand and accept that THA “marks the beginning and not the end of treatment” despite almost immediate pain relief and gain in mobility that can be achieved. (1)

Improvement of surgical methods and introduction of new surgical techniques and prosthesis materials have turned total hip replacement into one of the most successful contemporary treatment methods. (2)

Hip osteoarthrosisosteoarthritisis a degenerative disease that affects the synovial joints. OA is considered the most common disease of the locomotor system and is prevalent among middle-aged and elderly adults. In these populations, a clear relationship between overweight and physical activities is observed. (3)

Characterized by focal degeneration in joint cartilage, microfractures, cysts, subchondral bone sclerosis, and osteophyte formation in the articular borders, osteoarthritis deformity, and progressive loss of movements in the affected hip joint. Symptom severity does not always correspond to the degree of damage displayed on the radiograph. (3)

Currently, no cure for OA exists and treatments focus on controlling pain and improving function. Physiotherapy is one of these treatments. In the case of lack of response to treatment, total hip replacement is the surgical procedure of choice, because this treatment improves the patient’s quality of life and facilitates the patient’s return to activities of daily living (ADLs) and even to labor activities. (3)

Indications for total hip replacement

Symptomatic end-stage degenerative hip arthritis is the most common reason for total hip replacement (4)

Primary osteoarthritis is related to ageing, as the cartilage becomes less resilient, and to heavy physical activity. Osteoarthritis accounts for over two thirds of the THA procedures. (1)

The second most common indication is rheumatoid arthritis, which is a systemic inflammatory disorder probably caused by a systemic autoimmune response. Severely affected joints are candidates for joint arthroplasty when medication with analgesics, anti-inflammatory drugs and steroids can no longer control the symptoms. (1)

Other indications for total hip replacement are:

  • Dysfunction of the tissues of the hip joints
  • Orthopedic defects caused by accidents or diseases
  • Avascular necrosis (necrosis of bone tissue due to interruption of blood supply)
  • Other rare diseases that impair the function of the hip(1)

Hip osteonecrosis, on average, presents in the younger patient population (35-50 years of age) and accounts for approximately 10% of annual THAs. (4)

contraindications

Total hip replacement is contraindicated in the following clinical scenarios:

  • Local: Hip infection or sepsis
  • Remote (i.e. extra-articular) active, ongoing infection or bacteremia
  • Severe cases of vascular dysfunction (4)

Preoperative evaluation before total hip replacement

Clinical Examination

A comprehensive history and physical examination are required prior to performing a THA in any patient. Patients should be questioned about prior interventions and treatments. (4)

Prior joint replacements, arthroscopic procedures, or other surgeries around the hip should be considered as prior surgical incisions or the presence of hardware in the femur or acetabulum can significantly impact the planned surgery and/or prosthesis design utilized. (4)

In addition, a comprehensive medical evaluation should also be performed, and medical clearance and risk stratification are recommended for all patients prior to total hip replacement consideration. (4)

Other considerations include patient body habitus, prior functional activity and goals/expectations following surgery, the pattern of arthritic involvement, and any history of prior hip trauma. (4)

The hip should be inspected for any skin discoloration, wounds, or previous scars. The soft tissues should be examined for evidence of gross atrophy, overall symmetry, and stability. (4)

Physical examination also includes an evaluation of the mechanical axis and overall alignment of the limb. It is critical to ensure spine and/or hip pathology is ruled out or at least considered prior to performing any surgery around the hip. Any leg length discrepancy (LLD) should also be noted. (4)

Atypical leg discomfort and pain at rest are common symptoms of peripheral vascular disease (PVD). While up to 50% of patients are estimated to be asymptomatic at presentation, clinical suspicion of PVD may warrant preoperative vascular surgery consultation. (4)

Radiographs

Preoperative radiographs, including a standing anteroposterior (AP) pelvis plus AP/lateral of the involved hip(s), are recommended. A false profile view is considered in cases of hip dysplasia. When the surgeon is faced with cases of severe hip dysplasia, and when considering the use of customized components, we recommend obtaining a preoperative CT scan with thin (1-mm) cuts. (4)

On imaging, the hip joint is assessed for joint space narrowing, the presence of osteophytes, and the presence of subchondral sclerosis and/or degenerative cysts. (4)

The Surgical Procedure for Total Hip Replacement

In hip replacement surgery, the damaged bone and cartilage are replaced with ceramic, metal or plastic surfaces to restore hip movement and function. (5)

The articular socket and prosthetic femoral head replace the damaged normal articular surfaces in the affected hip joint, so the prosthetic materials must have low friction and withstand wear and mechanical load during movement.(1)

The total hip replacement prosthesis consists of two parts:

  • Acetabular component (cup) that fits into the pelvic bone/hip socket.
  • Femoral component (stem) that fits into the femur or thigh bone. (5)
Components-of the hip-joint
Components of the joint - the hip - the acetabular component and the femoral component

The surgical steps

  • An incision is usually made over the top of the thigh bone (femur).
  • The muscles that hold the hip in place are partially detached and the surgeon exposes the end of the femur and the pelvis socket (acetabulum).
  • The damaged cartilage and bone in the pelvis socket are cleaned away.
  • The acetabular component (cup) and a high-grade polyethylene liner (new cartilage) is fixed in place.
  • The head of the femur is removed.
  • The inside of the femur is prepared for the femoral component (metal stem) which is fixed in place and a femoral head (ball component) is placed on the stem.

Once the components are in place, the hip is put back in place and then tested for movement and stability. The incision is then closed. The surgery usually takes 45-90 minutes. (5)

Hip replacement surgery video

Surgical approaches

The three most common approaches are as follows:

Posterior

This is the most common approach for primary and revision THA cases. A major advantage of this approach is the avoidance of the hip abductors. Other advantages include the excellent exposure provided for both the acetabulum and the femur and the optional extensile conversion in the proximal or distal direction. (4)

Direct Anterior (DA)

The DA approach is becoming increasingly popular among THA surgeons. It is advocates cite the theoretical decreased hip dislocation rates in the postoperative period and the avoidance of the hip abduction musculature. The disadvantages include increased wound complications in particularly obese patients, difficult femoral exposure, the risk of lateral femoral cutaneous nerve paresthesias, and a potentially higher rate of intra-operative femur fractures. (4)

Anterolateral (Watson-Jones)

Compared to the other approaches, the anterolateral approach is the least commonly used approach secondary to its violation of the hip abductor mechanism. (4)

Choice of prosthesis

The frequently used notations metal-on-metal (MoM), ceramic-on-ceramic (CoC) or the classical combination metal-on-polyethylene (MoP) refer to the sequence of materials used for the femoral head and the acetabular cup (liner), respectively. (1)

The first decision to be made is between a cemented or uncemented hip prosthesis. Nowadays cementation is mainly used in patients aged above 60-65 years with compromised bone quality. Uncemented prostheses are preferred for younger patients with good bone quality. (1)

Recovery and rehabilitation after total hip replacement

Postoperative rehabilitation is of the utmost importance following total joint replacement in order to ensure pain-free function of the joint and improve the patient’s quality of life. Adequate and timely rehabilitation is very important for accelerating the recovery process and for prevention of complications. (2)

Patients who received THA without a rehabilitation program will develop functional limitations within 1 year after surgery, and physiotherapy plays an important role in the care of these patients. Physiotherapy can improve strength and gait speed after THA and help prevent frequent complications, which include luxation and thromboembolic disease. (3)

In addition, physiotherapy increases the patient’s mobility and offers education about the exercises and precautions that are necessary during hospitalization and after discharge. Nevertheless, no consensus for the most effective physiotherapy has been reached in the field. (3)

Early mobilization after total hip replacement

Early mobilization is a key component of early recovery program. Adverse physiological effects of prolonged bed rest include increased insulin resistance, myopathy, reduced pulmonary function, impaired tissue oxygenation, and increased risk of thromboembolism. Safe and effective analgesia is a prerequisite to encourage postoperative mobilization. (6)

Our patient is just two days after undergoing a total hip replacement

There is good evidence that early mobilization facilitates recovery after hip arthroplasty. A recent meta-analysis shows a significant reduction in length of stay (by 1.8 days) when patients ambulate within 24 h of surgery, and also associated with improved functional recovery and lower incidence of DVT. (6)

Pain after total hip replacement

It is normal to have pain, swelling and even some bruising after surgery. In time, the intensity and amount of pain that you experience will start to decrease. It may take up to 6 months before all the pain and swelling is completely gone. (6)

Before leaving the hospital, patient will be given a prescription for a combination of pain medications to help him manage pain. Patient may be prescribed or advised to take the following:

  • A pain medication to be taken regularly for 4 days and then on an as needed basis
  • A stronger pain medication that you can take every 2 hours as needed
  • Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug (such as ibuprofen) taken regularly for 4 days (6)

Physical therapy at home

Following discharge home from the hospital, some patients may choose to attend private physiotherapy. Most patients can manage the prescribed exercise routine independently. A basic home exercise program will be started following surgery to work on regaining the range of motion and strength in hip joint. These exercises should be practiced prior to surgery to familiarize with them. (5)

Nutrition after surgery

Healthy eating helps to prepare body for surgery. The body needs to be well nourished to heal the bones, muscles and skin that are affected by surgery. People who are well nourished are less likely to develop an infection following surgery. (5)

Aim to have a source of protein, vegetable or fruit and whole grain at each meal. Protein can be especially important after surgery as protein needs will increase as it can help with the healing process. (5)

Complications/complications after total hip replacement

Dislocation: The overall incidence is about 1% to 3%. Recurrent THA dislocations often result in revision THA surgery with component revision. (4)

Periprosthetic Fracture: Intraoperative fractures can occur and involve either the acetabulum and/or femur. Acetabular fractures occur in 0.4%, most often during component impaction. Intraoperative femur fractures occur in up to 5% of primary THA cases. (4)

Aseptic Loosening: aseptic loosening is the result of a confluence of steps involving particulate debris formation, prosthesis micromotion, and macrophage-activated osteolysis. (4)

Wound Complications: The THA postoperative wound complication spectrum ranges from superficial surgical infections such as cellulitis, superficial dehiscence, and/or delayed wound healing, to deep infections resulting in full-thickness necrosis. Deep infections result in returns to the operating room for debridement and drainage. (4)

Prosthetic Joint Infection: The incidence of prosthetic total hip infection (following primary THA is approximately 1% to 2% as reported in the literature. (4)

Venous thromboembolism events: Pulmonary embolism and deep vein thrombosis, together referred to as venous thromboembolism, comprise the most dreaded complications following THA. The median incidence of in-hospital VTE events during the index admission following THA is approximately 0.6%. (4)

Hematoma: Bleeding (hematoma) may occur in the muscles around the hip joint following the operation. If a hematoma occurs, this may require a trip to the operating room to drain the excess blood that has accumulated under the skin. (5)

Other Complications and Considerations

  • Sciatic nerve palsy
  • Leg Length Discrepancy (LLD)
  • Iliopsoas impingement
  • Heterotopic ossification
  • Vascular injury (4)

Expectations and outcome after total hip replacement

The life expectancy of a hip replacement (the new joint) is influenced by the amount of stress placed on the joint. Controlling body weight and adhering to the activity recommendations will increase the life of joint. In general, more than 90% of hip replacements should last at least 15 years. (5)

Patients expect from THA to recover pain-free mobility and to overcome restrictions in their private and professional activities. In this respect THA is a very successful treatment, since more than 80% of the patients are satisfied with the result after surgery. In a survey among 806 patients 94% returned to their usual job after surgery, and the number of patients with hip related job restrictions dropped from 20% before to 3% after surgery. (1)

The long-term clinical outcome of THA is determined by the materials and components used, by the surgeon and the patient himself. Durable solutions of THA can only be achieved if the surgeon manages to reconstruct the hip joint in a way that it can fulfil its proper function, and if a stable fixation of all components can be achieved. (1)


the reviewer:

  1. Holzwarth U, Cotogno G. Total Hip Arthroplasty. Publications Office of the European Union, 2012.
  2. UMPIERRES et al. Rehabilitation after hip arthroplasty: randomized trial. JRRD 2014;51(10):1567–1578.
  3. Krastanova MS, Ilieva EM, Valcheva DE. Rehabilitation of patients with hip joint arthroplasty. Folia Medica 2017;59(2):217-221.
  4. Varacallo M, Luo TD, Johanson NA. Total Hip Arthroplasty Techniques. StatPearls Publishing 2022.
  5. Outpatient Hip and Hip Replacement Information Manual. Winnipeg Regional Health Authority 2020.
  6. Soffin E. M, YaDeau JT Enhanced recovery after surgery for primary hip and hip arthroplasty: a review of the evidence. British Journal of Anesthesia 2016; 117:62–72.

Frequently Asked Questions:

The most common indication for THA includes end-stage, symptomatic hip osteoarthritis. The second most common indication is rheumatoid arthritis. Other indications for total hip replacement are: the dysplastic hip joints, bone defects caused by accidents or diseases, avascular necrosis.

THA is a very successful treatment, since more than 80% of the patients are satisfied with the result after surgery. In a survey among 806 patients 94% returned to their usual job after surgery, and the number of patients with hip related job restrictions dropped from 20% before to 3% after surgery.

The common complications are: Dislocation 1% to 3%, Periprosthetic Fracture 0.4%, Aseptic Loosening, Wound Complications, Prosthetic Joint Infection 1-2%, Venous thromboembolism events 0.6%, Hematoma.

In general, more than 90% of hip replacements should last at least 15 years.

The cost of hip replacement surgery varies according to the type of hospital, the type of joint, the scientific degree of the specialist doctor, as well as the patient's medical condition.

But in general, it ranges between 6 and 8 thousand US dollars.
You can contact us to reach the most accurate details after sending your medical condition.

Surgery usually takes 45-90 minutes.

It is normal to have pain, swelling and even some bruising after surgery. In time, the intensity and amount of pain that you experience will start to decrease. It may take up to 6 months before all the pain and swelling is completely gone.

In hip replacement surgery, the damaged bone and cartilage are replaced with ceramic, metal or plastic surfaces to restore hip movement and function. The defective hip joint is replaced by an artificial acetabular cup and femoral head, which replace the damaged natural articulating surfaces. Therefore, the materials must have low friction and withstand wear and oscillating mechanical load.

Intraoperative fractures can occur and involve either the acetabulum and/or femur. Acetabular fractures occur in 0.4%, most often during component impaction. Intraoperative femur fractures occur in up to 5% of primary THA cases.

Hip osteoarthrosis or osteoarthritis (OA) is a degenerative disease that affects the synovial joints. OA is considered the most common disease of the locomotor system and is prevalent among middle-aged and elderly adults. In these populations, a clear relationship between overweight and physical activities is observed.

If you are planning for treatment in Turkey
you can talk to us here.

English

عملية-تغيير-مفصل-الفخذ

استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

تعد عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل المرتبطة بمرض التهاب مفصل الورك الحاد جراحة موثوقة وفعالة تهدف إلى تقليل الألم وزيادة الحركة والوظائف وجودة حياة المريض.

مقدمة عن عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

أصبحت عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل (Total Hip Replacement) ناجحةً جداً لدرجة أنها باتت تُعرف بعملية القرن، فهي الإجراء الجراحي الرئيسي في جراحة العظام وعلاج فعال من حيث التكلفة لاستعادة الحركة الخالية من الألم لدى المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض العظام والمفاصل التنكسية مثل التهاب المفاصل التنكسي.(1)

يمكن اعتبار عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل بشكل عام تدخلاً آمناً ينتج عنه مستوى رضاً مرتفع لدى المرضى، فقد أعلن أكثر من 90% من مرضى التهاب المفاصل التنكسي أنهم راضون عن نتائج عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل بعد عام واحد من الجراحة، ويستطيع معظمهم العودة إلى حياتهم الطبيعية، وقد أدى هذا النجاح إلى توقعات عالية لنتائج الجراحة بين المرضى وجراحي العظام والباحثين.(1)

سيتعين على المرضى أن يتفهموا ويقبلوا أن عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل “تُمثل بداية العلاج وليس نهايته” على الرغم من حدوث تخفيف فوري تقريباً للآلام واكتساب القدرة على الحركة بعد الجراحة.(1)

أدى تحسين الأساليب الجراحية وإدخال تقنيات جراحية ومواد صناعية تعويضية جديدة إلى تحويل عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل إلى واحدة من أفضل طرق العلاج المعاصرة نجاحاً.(2)

يُعد التهاب مفصل الورك التنكسي (الفصال العظمي) مرضاً تنكسياً يُصيب المفاصل الزليليّة، ويعتبر أكثر الأمراض شيوعاً في الجهاز الحركي وهو منتشر بين البالغين في متوسطي الأعمار وكبار السن، ويُلاحظ لدى هذه الفئة العمرية من السكان وجود علاقة واضحة بين هذا المرض وزيادة الوزن والأنشطة البدنية.(3)

يتميز مفصل الورك المصاب بما يلي: تنكس بؤري في الغضروف المفصلي، الكسور الدقيقة، الخراجات، تصلب العظام تحت الغضروف، ظهور نبتات عظمية في الحدود المفصلية، التشوه التالي لالتهاب المفاصل، وفقدان تدريجي لحركات المفاصل، ولا تتوافق شدة الأعراض دائماً مع درجة الضرر الظاهر على الصورة الشعاعية.(3)

لا يوجد علاج للالتهاب المفاصل التنكسي في الوقت الحالي وتركز العلاجات المتاحة على السيطرة على الألم وتحسين الوظائف (المعالجة الفيزيائية هي إحدى هذه العلاجات) وفي حالة عدم الاستجابة فإن عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل هو الإجراء الجراحي المفضل كونه يُحسن نوعية حياة المريض ويسهل عودته إلى الأنشطة الحياتية اليومية وحتى إلى مزاولة العمل.(3)

أسباب إجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل

يُعتبر التهاب مفصل الورك التنكسي في المرحلة النهائية والمصحوب بأعراض أكثر الأسباب شيوعاً لإجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل.(4)

يرتبط حدوث التهاب مفصل الورك التنكسي بكل من الشيخوخة والنشاط البدني الشاق إذ يُصبح الغضروف أقل مرونة مع مرور الوقت، وهو يُمثل أكثر من ثلثي حالات استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل.(1)

يأتي التهاب مفصل الورك الروماتيزمي في المرتبة الثانية من حيث الشيوع، وهو اضطراب التهابي جهازي ربما يكون سببه استجابة مناعية ذاتية جهازية، وتكون المفاصل المصابة بشدة مرشحة لعملية استبدال المفصل عندما تفشل الأدوية (التي تحتوي على المسكنات والأدوية المضادة للالتهابات والستيروئيدات) في السيطرة على الأعراض.(1)

تشمل الأسباب الأخرى لعملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل:

  • خلل أنسجة مفاصل الورك
  • العيوب العظمية الناجمة عن الحوادث أو الأمراض
  • تنخر الأوعية الدموية (تنخر أنسجة العظام بسبب انقطاع التروية الدموية)
  • الأمراض النادرة الأخرى التي تضر بوظيفة منطقة الورك(1)

يظهر تنخر عظم الورك وسطياً في الفئة العمرية الأصغر سناً 35-50 سنة ويُمثل حوالي 10% من عمليات استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل سنوياً.(4)

الأسباب التي تمنع إجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل

يتم الامتناع عن إجراء جراحة استبدال كامل مفصل الورك في الحالات السريرية التالية:

  • التهاب أو خراجات الورك
  • العدوى البعيدة (أي خارج المفصل) النشطة أو المستمرة أو تجرثم الدم
  • الحالات الشديدة من أمراض الأوعية الدموية (4)

تقييم المريض ما قبل عملية استبدال كامل مفصل الورك

التقييم السريري

يتم إجراء فحص سريري شامل مع أخذ التاريخ المرضي قبل إجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل، كما يجب السؤال عن التدخلات والعلاجات السابقة.(4)

يجب الأخذ بالاعتبار عمليات استبدال المفصل السابقة أو إجراءات تنظير المفصل أو العمليات الجراحية الأخرى حول مفصل الحوض قبل اتخاذ قرار إجراء العمل الجراحي، إضافة إلى أن وجود مواد صناعية تعويضية في عظم الفخذ أو جوف المفصل يمكن أن يؤثر بشكل كبير على العمل الجراحي المخطط له و/أو اختيار المفصل الاصطناعي البديل.(4)

يجب أيضًا إجراء تقييم طبي شامل وحصول المريض على تصريح طبي وتحديد المخاطر المتوقع حدوثها قبل اتخاذ القرار بإجراء عملية استبدال كامل مفصل الورك.(4)

تشمل الأمور الأخرى الواجب أخذها بعين الاعتبار قبل العمل الجراحي كل من: عادات جسم المريض، النشاط الوظيفي السابق، الأهداف أو التوقعات لما بعد العمل الجراحي، نمط الإصابة بالتهاب المفاصل، وأي سوابق لإصابة رضية في مفصل الورك.(4)

يجب إجراء فحص للورك بحثاً عن أي تصبغات جلدية أو جروح أو ندوب سابقة، كما يجب فحص الأنسجة الرخوة للتحري عن الضمور الشديد والتناظر العام والاستقرار في الورك.(4)

يجب إجراء تقييم للمحور الميكانيكي والمحاذاة الكلية للطرف، فمن المهم التأكد من استبعاد أمراض العمود الفقري و/أو الركبة أو على الأقل أخذها بعين الاعتبار قبل إجراء أي عملية جراحية حول الورك، كما يجب أيضاً التحري عن وجود أي اختلاف في طول الساق.(4)

يعد الانزعاج اللانموذجي في الساق والألم أثناء الراحة من الأعراض الشائعة لأمراض الأوعية الدموية المحيطية، في حين تغيب هذه الأعراض عن حوالي 50% من المرضى لذلك فإن الشك السريري في وجود هذه الأمراض قد يتطلب استشارة جراح الوعائية قبل إقرار عملية استبدال مفصل الفخذ بالكامل.(4)

التقييم الشعاعي

يُوصى بإجراء تقييم شعاعي قبل العمل الجراحي بما في ذلك صورة الحوض الأمامية الخلفية والجانبية للورك المصاب، كما يتم اللجوء إلى التصوير الطبقي المحوري بمقاطع 1 مم عندما يواجه الجراح حالات خلل التنسج الشديد بمفصل الورك.(4)

يتم في التقييم الشعاعي لمفصل الفخذ التحري عن تضييق المسافة بين المفصلية، وجود التنبتات العظمية، وجود التصلب تحت الغضروفي و/أو الكيسات التنكسية.(4)

الإجراء الجراحي خلال عملية استبدال كامل مفصل الورك

يتم في عملية استبدال كامل مفصل الفخذ تبديل العظام والغضاريف التالفة بأسطح من السيراميك أو المعدن أو البلاستيك لاستعادة حركة الورك ووظيفته.(5)

يحل الجوف المفصلي ورأس الفخذ البديلة محل الأسطح المفصلية الطبيعية التالفة في مفصل الورك المصاب، لذلك يجب أن تكون المواد التعويضية ذات احتكاك منخفض وأن تتحمل التآكل والحمل الميكانيكي أثناء الحركة.(1)

يتكون مفصل الورك الاصطناعي من جزأين:

  • مكون الجوف المفصلي (الكأس) يلائم تجويف عظم الحوض.
  • المكون الفخذي (الساق) الذي يلائم عظم الفخذ. (5)
مكونات-مفصل-الورك
مكونات مفصل-الورك-المكون الحقي والمكون الفخذي

خطوات العملية الجراحية

  • عادة ما يقوم الجراح بعمل شق في الجزء العلوي من عظم الفخذ.
  • يتم فصل العضلات التي تثبت الورك في مكانه جزئياً ويكشف الجراح نهاية عظم الفخذ وتجويف الحوض (الجوف الحقي).
  • يتم إزالة الغضاريف والعظام التالفة في تجويف الحوض.
  • يتم تركيب مكون الجوف المفصلي (الكأس) وبطانة البولي إيثيلين عالية الجودة (الغضروف الجديد) في مكانهما.
  • تتم إزالة رأس عظم الفخذ.
  • يتم تحضير الجزء الداخلي من عظم الفخذ للمكون الفخذي (الساق المعدني) الذي يتم تثبيته في مكانه ويتم وضع رأس عظمة الفخذ (الجزء الكروي) على الساق المزروعة.

بمجرد وضع المكونات في مكانها تتم إعادة الورك إلى مكانه ثم اختبار حركة واستقرار المفصل، ومن ثم يتم إغلاق الشق الجراحي، ويستغرق العمل الجراحي عادة 45-90 دقيقة.(5)

عملية استبدال مفصل الورك فيديو

أنواع التداخل الجراحي

تتم عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل باستخدام ثلاث طرق تعتبر الأكثر شيوعا وهي:

التداخل الخلفي

وهي الطريقة الأكثر شيوعًا لإجراء عمليات استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل وعمليات التصحيح، والميزة الرئيسية لهذا النهج هو تجنب العضلات المبعدة للورك، إضافة إلى الكشف الممتاز لكل من الجوف الحُقي للورك وعظم الفخذ وتحويل التمدد الاختياري في الاتجاه القريب أو البعيد.(4)

التداخل الأمامي المباشر

لقد أصبحت هذه الطريقة شائعةً بشكل متزايد بين الجراحين، ييستشهد المؤيدون لها بالمعدلات النظرية المنخفضة لخلع الورك في فترة ما بعد العمل الجراحي وتجنب العضلات المبعدة للورك، وتشمل مشاكل هذا التداخل زيادة مضاعفات الجروح لدى المرضى الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة بشكل خاص، صعوبة كشف الفخذ، خطر حدول تنميل في العصب الفخذي الجلدي الجانبي، واحتمالية ارتفاع معدل كسور عظم الفخذ أثناء العمل الجراحي.(4)

التداخل الأمامي الجانبي (واتسون-جونز)

إن التداخل الأمامي الجانبي هو الطريقة الأقل استخداماً بالمقارنة مع طرق التداخل الأخرى بسبب تأثيره المباشر على العضلات المبعدة للورك.(4)

اختيار مكونات مفصل الورك الاصطناعي

تشير التقارير إلى أن أكثر المواد التعويضية شيوعاً والمستخدمة في تصنيع رأس الفخذ والجوف الحقي في مفصل الورك الصناعي هي معدن على معدن (MoM) أو سيراميك على سيراميك (CoC) أو مزيج كلاسيكي من معدن على بولي إيثيلين (MoP).(1)

إن القرار الأول الذي يجب اتخاذه بخصوص مفصل الورك الاصطناعي هو فيما إذا سيتم تثبيته بمواد تثبيت عظمي (اسمنت) أم لا، يتم حالياً استخدام مواد تثبيت بشكل أساسي في المرضى الذين تزيد أعمارهم عن 60-65 سنة والذين يعانون من ضعف جودة العظام، فيما تُفضل عدم استخدام مواد تثبيت للمرضى الأصغر سناً الذين يتمتعون بجودة عظام جيدة.(1)

الاستشفاء وإعادة التأهيل بعد استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل

تعتبر إعادة التأهيل بعد الجراحة ذات أهمية قصوى بعد جراحة إستبدال كامل مفصل الورك من أجل ضمان وظيفة خالية من الألم للمفصل وتحسين نوعية حياة المريض، فإعادة التأهيل المناسبة وفي الوقت المناسب مهمة جداً لتسريع عملية الشفاء والوقاية من المضاعفات.(2)

إذا لم يتم تطبيق برنامج إعادة التأهيل للمرضى الذين أجروا جراحة استبدال كامل مفصل الورك فإنهم سيصابون بمشاكل وظيفية في غضون عام واحد بعد الجراحات، ويلعب العلاج الطبيعي دوراً مهماً في رعاية هؤلاء المرضى فهو يحسن القوة وسرعة المشي بعد إستبدال كامل مفصل الورك ويساعد في منع المضاعفات المتكررة والتي تشمل خلع المفصل ومرض الانصمام الخثاري.(3)

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تزيد المعالجة الفيزيائية من حركة المريض وتقدم تثقيفاً حول التمارين والاحتياطات اللازمة أثناء العلاج في المستشفى وبعد الخروج إلى المنزل، ورغم ذلك لم يتم التوصل إلى إجماع على نوعية برنامج العلاج الفيزيائية الأكثر فعالية في هذا المجال.(3)

الحركة المبكرة بعد استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل

تُعد الحركة المبكرة عنصراً أساسياً في برنامج التعافي بعد جراحة استبدال كامل مفصل الورك، فالراحة المطولة في الفراش تنطوي على آثار فيزيولوجية ضارة كزيادة مقاومة الأنسولين، الاعتلال العضلي، انخفاض وظائف الرئة، ضعف أكسجة الأنسجة وزيادة خطر الإصابة بالجلطات الدموية، ويُعتبر تسكين الألم الآمن والفعال شرطاً أساسياً لتشجيع المريض على الحركة الباكرة بعد الجراحة.(6)

مريضنا بعد يومين فقط من إجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

هناك أدلة جيدة على أن الحركة المبكرة تسهل الاستشفاء بعد جراحة استبدال كامل مفصل الورك، فقد أظهرت الدراسات التحليلية الحديثة حدوث انخفاض كبير في مدة الإقامة في المستشفى (بمقدار 1.8 يوماً) عندما يتحرك المرضى خلال 24 ساعة من جراحة الاستبدال، كما أنها تساعد على تحسين التعافي الوظيفي وخفض معدل الإصابة بالخثار الوريدي العميق.(6)

الألم بعد استبدال كامل مفصل الورك

من الطبيعي أن يشعر المريض بألم وتورم وحتى بعض الكدمات بعد العمليه، وستبدأ شدة ومقدار الألم بالانخفاض مع مرور الوقت، وقد يستغرق الألم والتورم مدة قد تصل حتى 6 أشهر قبل أن يختفي تماماً.(6)

سيتم إعطاء المريض وصفة طبية لمجموعة من المسكنات قبل مغادرة مستشفى لمساعدته على التحكم بالألم، وقد يُنصح المريض بأخذ ما يلي:

  • مسكن للألم يتم تناوله بانتظام لمدة 4 أيام ثم حسب الحاجة
  • مسكن أقوى للألم يمكن تناوله كل ساعتين حسب الحاجة
  • مضاد الالتهابات غير الستيروئيدية (كالبروفين) يتم تناوله بانتظام لمدة 4 أيام(6)

العلاج الفيزيائي في المنزل بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

قد يختار بعض المرضى حضور جلسات خاصة للعلاج الفيزيائي بعد الخروج من المستشفى إلى المنزل، بينما يستطيع معظم المرضى تنفيذ نظام التمارين بشكل مستقل، ويبدأ برنامج التمارين المنزلية الأساسية بعد جراحة استبدال كامل مفصل الورك مباشر بهدف استعادة نطاق الحركة والقوة في المفصل، يجب التدرب على هذه التمارين قبل جراحة الاستبدال للتعرف عليها.(6)

التغذية بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

يساعد النظام الغذائي الصحي على تحضير الجسم للجراحة، ويحتاج الجسم إلى تغذية جيدة لشفاء العظام والعضلات والجلد بعد جراحة الاستبدال، فالأشخاص الذين يتغذون جيداً هم أقل عرضة للإصابة الانتانات بعد جراحة الاستبدال.(6)

إن الهدف من التغذية الصحية الحصول على مصدر للبروتين والخضار أو الفاكهة والحبوب في كل وجبة، فيمكن أن يكون البروتين مهماً بشكل خاص بعد استبدال كامل مفصل الورك حيث ستزداد احتياجات البروتين لأنه يمكن أن يساعد في عملية الشفاء.(6)

الاختلاطات/المضاعفات بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

خلع المفصل: تبلغ نسبة حدوث هذا الاخنلاط ا حوالي 1-3%، وعادةً ما يؤدي الخلع المتكررة إلى إعادة جراحة استبدال مفصل الورك (جراحة تصحيحية) مع تغيير المكونات المفصلية.(4)

كسر حول مفصل الورك الصناعي: يمكن أن تحدث كسور أثناء العمل الجراحي وتشمل إما الجوف الحقي و/أو عظم الفخذ، وتحدث كسور الجوف الحقي في 0.4% وغالبًا أثناء زرع المكونات، فيما تحدث كسور عظم الفخذ أثناء العملية في ما يصل إلى 5% من عمليات استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل.(4)

التفكك العقيم: يحدث بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل كنتيجة لالتقاء الخطوات التي تتضمن تكوين بقايا الجسيمات، والحركة الدقيقة للمفصل الصناعي، وانحلال العظم الناجم عن خلايا البلعمة.(4)

انتانات الجروح: يتراوح طيف اختلاطات الجروح بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل من الانتانات الجراحية السطحية مثل التهاب النسيج الخلوي و/أو التئام الجروح المتأخر إلى الانتانات العميقة التي تؤدي إلى تنخر كامل السماكة، وتؤدي الانتانات العميقة إلى العودة إلى غرفة العمليات من أجل التنضير والتصريف.(4)

انتانات المفصل: تحدث انتانات مفصل الورك الصناعي بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل في حوالي 1-2% كما ورد في الأدبيات الطبية.(4)

الانصمام الخثاري الوريدي: يُشار إلى الانصمام الرئوي والتخثر الوريدي العميق معاً باسم الانصمام الخثاري الوريدي، ويشكلان أكثر الاختلاطات الخطيرة بعد استبدال كامل مفصل الورك، ويبلغ نسبة حدوثه داخل مستشفيات حوالي 0.6%.(4)

الورم الدموي: قد يحدث نزيف (ورم دموي) في العضلات حول المفصل عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل، وقد يتطلب ذلك الذهاب إلى غرفة العمليات لتصريف الدم الزائد المتراكم تحت الجلد.(5)

المضاعفات والمخاطر الأخرى بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

  • شلل العصب الوركي
  • اختلاف طول الساق
  • إصابة العضلة الحرقفية القطنية
  • التعظم غير المتجانس
  • إصابة الأوعية الدموية (4)

التوقعات والنتائج بعد استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل

يتأثر متوسط العمر المتوقع لاستبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل (المفصل الجديد) بمقدار الضغط الواقع على المفصل، إذ يؤدي التحكم في وزن الجسم والالتزام بتوصيات النشاط إلى زيادة عمر المفصل، وبشكل عام يجب أن تستمر أكثر من 90% من المفاصل الاصطناعية لمدة 15 عاماً على الأقل.(5)

يتوقع الأشخاص الذين أجروا استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل استعادة الحركة الخالية من الألم والتغلب على القيود في أنشطتهم اليومية والمهنية، وتُعد عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل علاجاً ناجحاً للغاية إذ أن أكثر من 80% من المرضى راضون عن النتيجة بعد جراحة الاستبدال، وفي دراسة استقصائية شملت 806 مرضياً عاد 94% إلى وظيفتهم المعتادة بعد جراحة الاستبدال ، وانخفض عدد المرضى الذين يعانون من قيود وظيفية مرتبطة بالورك من 20% قبل الجراحة إلى 3% فقط بعد جراحة الاستبدال.(1)

يتم تحديد النتيجة السريرية طويلة المدى لعملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل من خلال المواد والمكونات المستخدمة من قبل الجراح والمريض نفسه، ولا يمكن تحقيق الحلول الدائمة باستبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل إلا إذا تمكن الجراح من إعادة بناء مفصل الورك بطريقة تمكنه من أداء وظيفته المناسبة، وإذا كان من الممكن تحقيق تثبيت مستقر لجميع لمكونات المفصل الصناعي.(1)


المراجع:

  1. Holzwarth U, Cotogno G. Total Hip Arthroplasty. Publications Office of the European Union, 2012.
  2. UMPIERRES et al. Rehabilitation after hip arthroplasty: Randomized trial. JRRD 2014;51(10):1567–1578.
  3. Krastanova MS, Ilieva EM, Valcheva DE. Rehabilitation of patients with hip joint arthroplasty. Folia Medica 2017;59(2):217-221.
  4. Varacallo M, Luo TD, Johanson NA. Total Hip Arthroplasty Techniques. StatPearls Publishing 2022.
  5. Outpatient Hip and Hip Replacement Information Manual. Winnipeg Regional Health Authority 2020.
  6. Soffin E. M, YaDeau J. T. Enhanced recovery after surgery for primary hip and hip arthroplasty: a review of the evidence. British Journal of Anaesthesia 2016; 117:62–72.

الأسئلة الشائعة

يُعتبر التهاب مفصل الورك التنكسي في المرحلة النهائية والمصحوب بأعراض أكثر الأسباب شيوعاً لإجراء عملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل، ويأتي التهاب مفصل الورك الروماتيزمي في المرتبة الثانية من حيث الشيوع. تشمل الأسباب الأخرى لعملية استبدال مفصل الورك بالكامل: خلل أنسجة مفاصل الورك، العيوب العظمية الناجمة عن الحوادث أو الأمراض، تنخر الأوعية الدموية

تعد عملية استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل علاجاً ناجحاً للغاية إذ أن أكثر من 80% من المرضى راضون عن النتيجة بعد جراحة الاستبدال، وفي دراسة استقصائية شملت 806 مرضياً عاد 94% إلى وظيفتهم المعتادة بعد جراحة الاستبدال ، وانخفض عدد المرضى الذين يعانون من قيود وظيفية مرتبطة بالورك من 20% قبل الجراحة إلى 3% فقط بعد جراحة الاستبدال.

تشمل المضاعفات كل من: خلع المفصل 1-3%، كسر حول مفصل الورك الصناعي 0.4%، انتانات الجروح، انتانات المفصل 1-2%، الانصمام الخثاري الوريدي 0.6%، الورم الدموي.

بشكل عام يجب أن تستمر أكثر من 90% من المفاصل الاصطناعية لمدة 15 عاماً على الأقل.

تختلف تكلفة عملية تغيير مفصل الفخذ حسب نوع المشفى ونوع المفصل والدرجة العلمية للطبيب المختص بالإضافة للحالة الطبية للمريض.

ولكن بشكل عام تتراوح بين ال6 و ال8 آلاف دولار أمريكي.
بإمكانكم التواصل معنا للوصول لأدق التفاصيل بعد إرسال حالتكم المرضية.

يستغرق العمل الجراحي عادة 45-90 دقيقة.

من الطبيعي أن يشعر المريض بألم وتورم وحتى بعض الكدمات بعد العمليه، وستبدأ شدة ومقدار الألم بالانخفاض مع مرور الوقت، وقد يستغرق الألم والتورم مدة قد تصل حتى 6 أشهر قبل أن يختفي تماماً.

يتم في عملية استبدال كامل مفصل الفخذ تبديل العظام والغضاريف التالفة بأسطح من السيراميك أو المعدن أو البلاستيك لاستعادة حركة الورك ووظيفته. ويحل الجوف المفصلي ورأس الفخذ البديلة محل الأسطح المفصلية الطبيعية التالفة في مفصل الورك المصاب ، لذلك يجب أن تكون المواد التعويضية ذات احتكاك منخفض وأن تتحمل التآكل والحمل الميكانيكي أثناء الحركة.

يمكن أن تحدث كسور أثناء العمل الجراحي وتشمل إما الجوف الحقي و/أو عظم الفخذ، وتحدث كسور الجوف الحقي في 0.4% وغالبًا أثناء زرع المكونات، فيما تحدث كسور عظم الفخذ أثناء العملية في ما يصل إلى 5% من عمليات استبدال مفصل الورك الكامل.

يُعد التهاب مفصل الورك التنكسي (الفصال العظمي) مرضاً تنكسياً يُصيب المفاصل الزليليّة، ويعتبر أكثر الأمراض شيوعاً في الجهاز الحركي وهو منتشر بين البالغين في متوسطي الأعمار وكبار السن، ويُلاحظ لدى هذه الفئة العمرية من السكان وجود علاقة واضحة بين هذا المرض وزيادة الوزن والأنشطة البدنية.

إذا كنت تخطط للعلاج في تركيا
تحدث هنا الآن

العربية