Laser lithotripsy

Laser lithotripsy

Laser lithotripsy is a procedure that has been used recently to break up kidney and ureter stones, and it is a more effective alternative to shock wave lithotripsy.

The fragmentation of urinary stones through laser has been very popular recently, as the laser can effectively affect large stones without apparent complications or risks. It is a minimally invasive procedure using a ureteroscope without making surgical incisions.

Studies often compare laser lithotripsy with shock wave lithotripsy (ESWL), and although both perform the same function (lithotripsy), there are some differences between the two methods. Continue with us to learn about the benefits and harms of laser lithotripsy with a price operation in Turkey.

How to perform laser lithotripsy

The technique of fragmentation of kidney stones using laser was used for the first time in 1980 by doctors from a hospital located in the United States of America, and since then this technique has been developed and modernized to become more efficient and less dangerous with very few side effects.

This procedure involves inserting a fiber-optic device capable of generating laser waves into the urinary tract by using Ureteroscope which is equipped with a camera that enables the surgeon to accurately locate the stones to be broken up into precise parts by shining laser light with specific specifications directly at the stones.

Through this technique, the doctor can break up the kidney and ureter stones, in addition to the stones of the urethra. After completing the fragmentation, the crushed parts of the stones are collected in a basket inserted through endoscopy; the remaining stones are thrown out when the patient urinates.

The patient is given either local or general anesthesia during the laser lithotripsy procedure. The entire procedure usually takes about half an hour, and most patients can go home the same day after the anesthesia wears off.

This picture shows the steps of the laser lithotripsy procedure, which is done by using a ureteroscope
Image showing the procedure of laser lithotripsy

When do we resort to laser lithotripsy?

The incidence of kidney stones has increased significantly in our current era due to many factors, the most important of which is obesity and a modern lifestyle, in addition to a diet that is low in fiber and high in salt. All of these factors may contribute to the formation of stones, but not all need to be broken up, large stones may obstruct the urinary tract, which is accompanied by severe pain and the possibility of kidney damage when neglecting treatment; read more about kidney stones.

We resort to laser lithotripsy to treat and break up symptomatic stones that do not respond to drug treatment, in addition to the difficulty of breaking them up with ultrasonic waves because they have specifications that make them difficult to break up, such as their large size, location of the stone, and the hardness of the stones. Laser wave lithotripsy surgery has proven its effectiveness in treating all stones of the kidneys and urinary tract of different specifications; you can read about the process. Ultrasound lithotripsy of kidney stones.

Photo of a laser lithotripsy device
Laser lithotripsy device

Benefits of laser lithotripsy

Laser lithotripsy of the kidneys and ureter has many advantages when compared with shock wave lithotripsy, which makes it a preferred procedure; among these features are the following:

  • Higher success rates
  • Better and more effective against large pebbles
  • Preferred in patients with multiple stones

Disadvantages of laser lithotripsy

The risk of some complications and damages resulting from an operation cannot be ruled out Laser lithotripsyAlthough rare, any medical intervention is associated with some risks, including in this case:

  • Drops of blood with urine or more than it was before
  • Injury to part of the urinary tract
  • Urinary tract infection due to transmission of infection
  • Feeling pain and burning sensation when urinating
  • The need to perform the surgery again to remove the rest of the stones

Tips before performing laser lithotripsy

Before breaking up the urinary stones, your doctor will perform some laboratory tests to determine the type of stone, in addition to radiological and imaging tests such as CT scan To know the exact size and location of the stones before starting the procduer of breaking up the kidney stones.

Your doctor will give you instructions and advice about preparing before you undergo the operation, and he will ask you about the medications you are taking. He may ask you to stop or adjust one of these medications before doing the procedure.

You must refrain from eating or drinking for a period of at least 12 hours before the operation, for fear of food returning back and choking during anesthesia.

It is recommended to take a family member with you to drive you home after the operation, due to the temporary effects of anesthesia, such as dizziness and nausea, that prevent you from driving a car.

Before starting the process of lithotripsy with laser, radiographs must be taken to ensure the exact location and size of the grout

After laser lithotripsy

After you wake up from the anesthetic, your doctor will monitor your vital signs, such as your heart rate and breathing rate, to ensure that your health is stable, with no complications resulting from the procedure, and determine if you are ready to go home.

You do not need to worry if you notice blood appearing in the urine in the first days after the operation. This is normal as long as the amount of blood is not too much. It may take several weeks to remove all the remaining stones during urination.

You may also feel pain in your back, specifically around the flank, in the days following the procedure. This is expected and can be relieved using pain-relieving medications such as ibuprofen. Some people may notice slight skin redness around the flanks where the laser is applied.

The patient may need a week before returning to his normal daily activities. The recovery period may be longer or shorter, depending on each patient's condition. The doctor will determine the recovery time necessary after the surgery.

The price of laser lithotripsy in Turkey

The cost varies according to the condition and the number and size of the stones. The price of laser kidney stone surgery in Turkey usually ranges from 3400 to 4500 US dollars, which remains low compared to other countries.

Laser lithotripsy is one of the latest surgical procedures used to eliminate urinary tract stones and break them entirely without causing complications or accompanying side effects. It makes it worth trying.


Sources:

  1. Wikipedia
  2. Healthline
  3. Medical News Today

Frequently Asked Questions:

In cases not accompanied by problems or complications, the average duration is 30 minutes, and it may be slightly more depending on the number of kidney stones and their size.

A person who underwent laser lithotripsy may suffer from temporary symptoms in the first days following the procedure, such as back pain spreading to the flank and drops of blood coming out of the urethra until the rest of the stone fragments are expelled from the body.

Laser lithotripsy may be associated with side effects, such as bleeding or redness of the skin and the risk of infection or damage to the urinary system and bladder.

There are different methods of fragmentation of kidney stones through the ureteroscope, such as laser or shock waves, and each has its price. This price varies depending on each procedure and the patient's condition, but the cost usually ranges from $3,000 to $10,000.

Laser lithotripsy is not dangerous and rarely causes complications. It is considered one of the safest and least dangerous methods of lithotripsy.

If you are planning for treatment in Turkey
you can talk to us here.

English

تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر Laser Lithotripsy من العمليات التي شاع استخدامها مؤخراً لتفتيت حصوات الكلية والحالب وهي بديل أكثر فعالية عن التفتيت بالموجات التصادمية.

لاقى تفتيت الحصى البولية عبر استعمال أشعة الليزر رواجاً كبيراً في الآونة الأخيرة إذ يستطيع الليزر التأثير على الحصى كبيرة الحجم بشكل فعال دون وجود مضاعفات أو مخاطر واضحة وذلك لكونه إجراء طفيف التوغل يتم باستخدام منظار الحالب دون عمل أية شقوق جراحية.

كثيراً ما تقارن الدراسات بين عملية تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر وبين تفتيت الحصيات بالموجات التصادمية (ESWL) وعلى الرغم من أن كلاهما يقوم بنفس الوظيفة (تفتيت الحصوات) إلا أنه يوجد بعض الاختلافات بين الطريقتين، تابع معنا لتتعرف على فوائد وأضرار تفتيت حصوات الكلى بالليزر مع سعر العملية في تركيا.

كيفية إجراء تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

تم استخدام تقنية تفتيت حصوات الكلى باستخدام الليزر لأول مرة عام 1980 على يد أطباء من مستشفى يقع في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ومنذ ذلك الحين جرى تطوير هذه التقنية وتحديثها لتصبح أكثر كفاءة وأقل خطورة مع تأثيرات جانبية قليلة للغاية.

ينطوي هذا الإجراء على إدخال جهاز مكون من ألياف ضوئية قادرة على توليد أمواج ليزرية إلى داخل المسالك البولية وذلك بواسطة استخدام منظار الحالب المجهز بكاميرا تمكن الجراح من تحديد مكان الحصى بدقة ليتم تفتيها إلى أجزاء دقيقة عبر تسليط ضوء الليزر ذو المواصفات المحددة باتجاه الحصوات مباشرة.

يستطيع الطبيب عن طريق هذه التقنية تفتيت حصى الكلى والحالب بالإضافة إلى حصوات الإحليل أيضاً، بعد الانتهاء من التفتيت يتم جمع الأجزاء المفتتة من الحصى ضمن سلة خاصة تدخل عبر التنظير وتطرح الجزيئات الدقيقة للحصى عندما يتبول المريض.

يخدر المريض إما بشكل موضعي أو تخدير عام أثناء عملية تفتيت الحصى بالليزر وعادةً ما تستغرق العملية بأكملها حوالي نصف ساعة ومعظم المرضى يمكنهم العودة للمنزل في ذات اليوم بعد زوال تأثير التخدير.

توضح هذه الصورة خطوات إجراء تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر والتي تتم بواسطة منظار الحالب
صورة توضح عملية تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

متى نلجأ إلى تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر؟

إن نسبة الإصابة بحصيات المسالك البولية kidney stones قد ازدادت بشكل ملحوظ في عصرنا الحالي نتيجة عوامل كثيرة من أهمها انتشار السمنة ونمط الحياة قليل الحركة إضافةً للنظام الغذائي قليل الألياف كثير الملح، كل هذه العوامل قد تساهم في تشكل الحصى ولكن ليست جميعها بحاجة إلى تفتيت فقد تتشكل حصى صغيرة لديك وتطرح من تلقاء نفسها مع البول دون أن تشعر بها، إلا أن الحصى كبيرة الحجم قد تسبب انسداد في السبيل البولي والذي يترافق مع آلام شديدة واحتمال حدوث أذية كلوية عند إهمال العلاج، اقرأ أكثر عن حصى الكلى.

نلجأ إلى تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر لعلاج وتفتيت الحصى السادة والمسببة لأعراض والتي لا تستجيب للعلاج الدوائي إضافةً لصعوبة تفتيها بالموجات فوق التصادمية بسبب كونها تتمتع بمواصفات تجعل تفتيتها صعباً ككبر حجمها، موقع الحصية الغير مناسب، قساوة الحصى، فقد أثبتت جراحة تفتيت الحصوات بالموجات الليزرية فعاليتها في علاج جميع حصوات الكلى والجهاز البولي باختلاف مواصفاتها، يمكنك القراءة عن عملية تفتيت حصوات الكلى بالموجات فوق التصامية.

صورة لجهاز تفتيت حصى الكلى الليزر
جهاز تفتيت حصى الكلى الليزر

فوائد عملية تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

تفتيت حصوات الكلى والحالب بالليزر يتمتع بالعديد من الفوائد والمزايا عند مقارنته مع تفتيت الحصى بالموجات التصادمية مما جعله اجراء مفضل، فمن بين هذه الميزات ما يلي:

  • نسب نجاح أعلى
  • أفضل وأكثر فعالية ضد الحصى كبيرة الحجم
  • مفضل عند المرضى ذوي الحصى المتعددة

أضرار تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

لا يمكن استبعاد خطر حصول بعض المضاعفات والأضرار الناتجة عن عملية تفتيت الحصى عبر الليزر، على الرغم من ندرتها إلا أن أي تداخل طبي يترافق مع بعض المخاطر ومن بينها في هذه الحالة:

  • نزول قطرات من الدم مع البول أو تزايد كميته عما كانت مسبقاً
  • إصابة جزء من المجرى البولي بأذية
  • التهاب المسالك البولية نتيجة انتقال العدوى
  • الشعور بألم وحرقة عند التبول
  • الحاجة لإجراء جراحة التفتيت مجدداً لإزالة باقي الحصى

نصائح قبل إجراء تفتيت حصوات الكلى بالليزر

قبل القيام بتفتيت الحصوات البولية سيقوم طبيبك بإجراء بعض الاختبارات المخبرية لتحديد نوع الحصى بالإضافة للفحوصات الشعاعية والتصويرية كصورة طبقي محوري CT scan لمعرفة حجم وموقع الحصوات بدقة قبل بدء عملية تفتيت حصوات الكلى.

سيقوم طبيبك بإعطائك بعض التعليمات والنصائح حول خطوات التحضير قبل خضوعك للعملية وسيسألك عن الأدوية التي تأخذها فقد يطلب منك التوقف أو تعديل أحد تلك الادوية قبيل تفتيت حصوات المسالك البولية.

يجب الامتناع عن تناول الطعام أو الشراب لفترة 12 ساعة على الأقل قبل العملية وذلك خوفاً من رجوع الأطعمة بشكل عكسي وحدوث اختناق أثناء التخدير.

يُنصح باصطحاب فرد من أفراد العائلة معك ليوصلك إلى المنزل بعد العملية وذلك بسبب تأثيرات التخدير المؤقتة والمتمثلة بالدوار والغثيان التي تمنعك من قيادة السيارة.

يجب قبل البدء بعملية تفتيت حصى الكلى باللبزر إجراء صور شعاعية للتأكد من موقع وحجم الجصى بدقة

بعد تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر

بعد استيقاظك من آثار المخدر سيراقب طبيبك علاماتك الحيوية كضربات القلب ومعدل التنفس للتأكد من استقرار حالتك الصحية مع عدم حصول أية مضاعفات ناتجة عن الإجراء وتحديد جاهزيتك للعودة إلى المنزل، وقد يصف لك بعض الأدوية المسكنة للألم والمريحة للأعراض في فترة التعافي التي تلي عملية تفتيت الحصوات.

لا داعي للقلق إذا لاحظت ظهور دم مع البول في الأيام الأولى بعد العملية فهذا أمر طبيعي طالما أن كمية الدم ليست كثيرة، فقد تستغرق عملية إزالة كافة جزيئات الحصى الدقيقة عدة أسابيع خلال التبول.

قد تشعر أيضًا بألم في الظهر وتحديداً حول الخاصرة في الأيام التالية للعملية وهذا يعد أمر متوقع ويمكن تخفيفه باستخدام الادوية المسكنة للألم كدواء الإيبوبروفين وقد يلاحظ البعض احمرار طفيف بالجلد حول الخاصرتين مكان تطبيق الليزر.

قد يحتاج المريض فترة أسبوع قبل عودته لممارسة نشاطاته اليومية الاعتيادية، قد تطول مدة التعافي أو تقصر بحسب حالة كل مريض، سيحدد لك الأخصائي الفترة اللازمة للراحة والتعافي بعد جراحة تفتيت حصى الكلى.

سعر تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر في تركيا

تختلف التكلفة باختلاف طبيعة الحالة وعدد الحصى وحجمها، فعادةً ما يتراوح سعر عملية حصى الكلى بالليزر في تركيا من 3400 إلى 4500 دولار أمريكي وتبقى هذه التكلفة منخفضة بالمقارنة مع الدول الأخرى.

وبالنهاية فإن تفتيت حصى الكلى بالليزر هو من أحدث الإجراءات الجراحية المستخدمة للتخلص من حصوات السبيل البولي وتفتيتها بشكل كامل بدون إحداث مضاعفات أو تأثيرات جانبية مرافقة، فقد أشارت بعض الدراسات إلى أن هذا الإجراء هو الاكثر فعالية في تفتيت حصوات الكلى المتعددة الكبيرة بالحجم وأضراره نادرة للغاية مما يجعله جدير بالتجربة.


المصادر:

  1. Wikipedia
  2. Healthline
  3. Medical News Today

الأسئلة الشائعة

في الحالات الطبيعية الغير مترافقة مع مشاكل أو اختلاطات تكون المدة وسطياً 30 دقيقة وقد تزيد عن ذلك قليلاً في حال زيادة عدد الحصوات في الكلى وكبر حجمها.

قد يعاني الشخص الذي خضع لعملية تفتيت حصى الكلى عبر الليزر من أعراض مؤقتة في الأيام الأولى التي تلي الإجراء كألم الظهر المنتشر للخاصرة ونزول قطرات من الدم مع مجرى البول لحين طرح باقي جزيئات الحصى إلى خارج الجسم.

إن تفتيت حصى الكلى باستخدام الليزر قد يترافق مع بعض الآثار الجانبية كحدوث نزيف أو احمرار في الجلد وكذلك خطر الاصابة بعدوى إنتانية أو أذية في الجهاز البولي والمثانة.

يوجد طرق مختلفة لعملية تفتيت حصى الكلى عبر منظار الحالب كاستعمال الليزر أو بالموجات التصادمية وكل واحدة من هذه الطرق لها سعرها الخاص ويختلف هذا السعر اعتماداً على طبيعة كل عمليه وحالة المصاب أيضاً، ولكن عادةً ما يتراوح المجال من حوالي 3000 دولار ويصل إلى 10000 دولار أمريكي.

لا يعتبر إجراء تفتيت حصوات الكلى عبر الليزر خطير ونادراً ما يسبب مضاعفات فهو يعتبر من أكثر وسائل تفتيت الحصوات أماناً وأقلها خطراً.

إذا كنت تخطط للعلاج في تركيا
تحدث هنا الآن

إذا كنت تخطط للعلاج في تركيا
تحدث هنا الآن

العربية